Synod Council

The Synod Council serves as the board of directors and as the interim legislative authority between meetings of the Synod Assembly. Lay and Rostered Leaders are elected to 4-year terms.

Rocky Mountain Synod Council


The Bishop is a Minister of Word & Sacrament, and is elected by the Synod Assembly for a 6-year term. The full description of the role of bishop can be found in Chapter 8 of the Rocky Mountain Synod Constitution. The Rev. James Gonia currently serves as Bishop of the Rocky Mountain Synod.

Bishop Gonia Biography 

Office of the Bishop 

The shared ministry of the Rocky Mountain Synod is stewarded by the staff off the Office of the Bishop, including: Candidacy, Transition, Communication, Advocacy, New Ministries, Events, and the Lutheran Center.

Meet the Office of the Bishop Staff

Conference Deans

Conference Deans are the primary connection between rostered ministers and the Office of the Bishop and serve the 10 conferences of the RMS: Utah, Wyoming, North Colorado, Boulder-Broomfield, Metro West, Metro East, Metro South, Southeast Colorado, North New Mexico, and Border. 

Meet Our Conference Deans